Tinsley Prize Lecture Committee

The Beatrice Tinsley Prize Lecture is given each year by a distinguished physicist in honor of Beatrice Muriel Hill Tinsley, the first female professor of astronomy at Yale, where she worked from 1974 until her death in 1981. Her work on disk galaxies has proven foundational in the decades following her passing. In 2018, the Yale Society of Physics Students inaugurated the Beatrice Tinsley Prize Lecture, which saw the invitation of Asimina Arvanitaki. This prized was started to honor Tinsley’s myriad contributions and to encourage collaboration and contact between distinguished physicists and the Yale undergraduate physics community. The speaker is jointly invited and hosted by the Society of Physics StudentsWomen in Physics, and Undergraduate students from Astronomy.


SPS leadership (presidents and board)
WiP leadership (presidents and board)
2 students from Astronomy 
DUS ex-officio
WIP faculty advisor, ex-officio