Barry Bradlyn (Yale Ph.D. 2015) has won the McMillan Award of UIUC

August 27, 2019


William L. McMillan
Since 1986, the Department of Physics at the University of Illinois has presented an annual award to an outstanding young researcher in condensed matter physics in memory of our late colleague, William L. McMillan. Nominations are now being sought for the 2020 McMillan Award winner.

NAS Biography of William L. McMillan

McMillan Memorial written by John Bardeen


In the spirit of Bill McMillan’s own research, the award recognizes exceptional achievements in theory, experiment, or both. A candidate must have received a PhD after January 2015, to be considered for the 2020 award.

The Award consists of a monetary prize, a plaque, and an invitation to present the annual McMillan Award Lecture at the University of Illinois.


The William L. McMillan Award was established by his friends and colleagues to recognize outstanding contributions by a young condensed matter physicist. One of the most creative and distinguished members of our department from 1972 until his untimely death in 1984, Professor McMillan was noted for his basic and unique contributions to many areas of condensed matter physics, including liquid helium, superconductivity, liquid crystals, layer compounds, spin glasses, and localization phenomena. In many of these areas, he made novel applications of computer techniques to obtain increased physical understanding of complex many-body systems.

Barry Bradlyn, 2019
Department of Physics
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

“for the development of a predictive theory of topological materials with non-magnetic space groups.”