The D. Allan Bromley Memorial Symposium will be held December 2005

December 1, 2005

A Memorial Symposium in honor of D. Allan Bromley will be held December 8-9, 2005 hosted by Francesco Iachello, Josiah W. Gibbs Professor of Physics and Professor of Chemistry.

The symposium will be opened by Yale President Richard C. Levin and J. W. Gibbs Professor of Physics Francesco Iachello. International notables, including former President George H. W. Bush (via videotape), will recognize Bromley’s impact on the challenges of science and technology over several decades. In his career he was professor and chaired the Yale physics department. He later served the nation with distinction as the first Cabinet-level Assistant to the President for Science and Technology and Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy. He then returned to revitalize engineering at Yale as Dean.

Distinguished speakers will include John H. Sununu, former Governor of New Hampshire and first White House Chief of Staff for George H. W. Bush, Neal Lane, Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy under President William J. Clinton, John H. Marburger III, current Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy, and Mary Good, Dean of Donaghey College of Information Science and Systems Engineering at the University of Arkansas.

Sessions of the symposium will be chaired by Paul Fleury, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and F.W. Beinecke Professor of Engineering and Applied Physics; Ramamurti Shankar, Chair and J.R. Huffman Professor of Physics; and other renowned faculty from Columbia University, the Institut für Kernphysik, Darmstadt, Germany, the Japan Science Foundation and the Brookhaven National Laboratory.

External link: