Debra Fischer (Eugene Higgins Professor of Astronomy) elected to the National Academy of Sciences

April 28, 2021

Debra Fischer, Eugene Higgins Professor of Astronomy,

is among four members of the Yale faculty elected to the prestigious National Academy of Sciences this week in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Cao is also among a record number of 59 women elected to the academy in a single year.

“The historic number of women elected this year reflects the critical contributions that they are making in many fields of science, as well as a concerted effort by our academy to recognize those contributions and the essential value of increasing diversity in our ranks,” said Marcia McNutt, president of the National Academy of Sciences. “I am pleased to welcome all of our new members, and I look forward to engaging with them in the work of the National Academies.”


Read full article at Yale News.


External link: