Nicholas Read (Henry Ford II Professor of Physics) won the Dirac Medal

August 11, 2015

Nicholas Read (Henry Ford II Professor of Physics) along with Alexei Kitaev (California Institute of Technology) and Gregory W. Moore (Rutgers University) has won the Dirac Medal from the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics for their interdisciplinary contributions which introduced the concepts of conformal field theory and non-abelian quasiparticle statistics in condensed matter systems and applied these ideas to quantum computation. Their work has played a fundamental role in recent advances in our understanding of the quantum states of matter and quantum entanglement theory. Click here for additional information.