Postdoctoral Advisory Committee started in 2022

Inaugural Postdoc Advisory Committee (PDAC): Yogesh Patil, Laura Havener, and Isabella Graf
September 9, 2022

This spring, the Physics department appointed Isabella Graf, Laura Havener, and Yogesh Patil as the inaugural Postdoc Advisory Committee (PDAC), which serves as a point of communication between the postdocs and associate research scientists (ARSs) and the administration of the department. The committee advises the Chair, the Director of Postdoctoral Affairs, and other faculty on matters related to postdocs and ARSs, and advocates on behalf of postdocs and ARSs with the Chair and the Director of Postdoctoral Affairs. The PDAC has already started to organize several events, ranging from monthly coffee hours to a series of professional development events. The first event in the series took place on Friday, September 9th. Meg Urry, Karsten Heeger, and Ben Machta gave advice for navigating the academic job market and shared tips for writing a successful application.