Undergraduate David Johnson ‘04 is awarded a Goldwater Scholarship

April 12, 2003

Yale College juniors David M. Johnson, Brian T. Lehmann and Doris D. Wang were among 300 sophomores and juniors nationwide who were awarded scholarships for the 2003-2004 academic year by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation.

Congress established the Goldwater Foundation in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate.

The Goldwater Scholarship seeks to inspire college students to pursue careers as scientists, mathematicians and engineers. 

Johnson, who hails from Batavia, Illinois, is a physics major who will seek his Ph.D. in physics after graduation. Johnson said he’d like to conduct research in propulsion science and to make it possible for humans to walk on other planets.

Edward Laird ‘04 was also awarded this scholarship last year.

See below for the full story.

External link: