Physics Department Committees & Teaching (2017-2018)

Teaching 2017-2018

Course No. Course Title Instructor Term
PHYS 050 Science of Modern Technology & Public Policy Daniel Prober Fall
PHYS 115 Physics of Dance Sarah Demers
Emily Coates
PHYS 151 Multivariable Calculus for Engineers Vidvuds Ozolins Fall
PHYS 165L General Physics Laboratory Bonnie Fleming
Sean Barrett
Sidney Cahn
Stephen Irons
Rona Ramos
PHYS 170 University Physics: Life Sciences Simon Mochrie
Daisuke Nagai
PHYS 180 (2 sections) University Physics Adriane Steinacker Fall
PHYS 200 Fundamentals of Physics David Poland Fall
PHYS 205L/PHYS 206L Modern Physical Measurement Helen Caines
Laura Newburgh
Nikhil Padmanabhan
PHYS 260 Intensive Introductory Physics Charles Baltay Fall
PHYS 295 Research Methods: Astrophysics Marla Geha Fall
PHYS 301 Introduction to Mathematical Methods of Physics Keith Baker Fall
PHYS 342 Introduction to Earth and Environmental Physics John Wettlaufer Fall
PHYS 401 Advanced Classical Physics R. Shankar Fall
PHYS 410 Classical Mechanics Jack Harris Fall
PHYS 420 Thermodynamics & Statistical Mechanics Nir Navon Fall
PHYS 428 Science of Complex Systems Jun Korenaga Fall
PHYS 439 Basic Quantum Mechanics Peter Rakich Fall
PHYS 441 Quantum Mechanics & Natural Phenomena Witold Skiba Fall
PHYS 448/PHYS 548 Solid-State Physics I Victor Henrich Fall
PHYS 458/PHYS 675 Principles of Optics with Applications Hui Cao Fall
PHYS 460/PHYS 506 Mathematical Methods of Physics Nicholas Read Fall
PHYS 471 Independent Projects in Physics John Harris Fall
PHYS 500 Advanced Classical Mechanics Yoram Alhassid Fall
PHYS 508 Quantum Mechanics I Thomas Appelquist Fall
PHYS 522 Introduction to Atomic Physics David DeMille Fall
PHYS 530 Scientific Teaching: Physical Science Rona Ramos
Kaury Kucera
PHYS 561 Introduction to Dynamical Systems in Biology Thierry Emonet
Kathryn Miller-Jensen
PHYS 570 High Energy Astrophysics Priyamvada Natarajan Fall
PHYS 609 Relativistic Field Theory I Walter Goldberger Fall
PHYS 628 Statistical Physics II Meng Cheng Fall
PHYS 634 Mesoscopic Physics I Michel Devoret Fall
PHYS 762 Laboratory Instruction Design & Mechanical Arts Kurt Zilm
David Johnson
PHYS 816 Techniques in Microwave Measurement Robert Schoelkopf Fall
PHYS 991 Integrated Workshop Corey O’Hern
Scott Holley
Christine Jacobs-Wagner
Megan King
Simon Mochrie
Lynne Regan
PHYS 100 Energy Technology and Society Daniel Prober
Michael Oristaglio
Julie Paquette
PHYS 107 Being Human in STEM Andrew Miranker
Lynne Regan
PHYS 120 Quantum Physics and Beyond John Harris Spring
PHYS 151 Multivariable Calculus for Engineers James Rolf Spring
PHYS 166L General Physics Laboratory Keith Baker
Sean Barrett
Sidney Cahn
PHYS 171  University Physics: Life Sciences Rona Ramos
Daisuke Nagai
PHYS 181 (2 sections) University Physics Adriane Steinacker Spring
PHYS 201 Fundamentals of Physics Sarah Demers Spring
PHYS 205L/PHYS 206L Modern Physical Measurement Karsten Heeger
Mehdi Ghiassi-Nejad
Stephen Irons
PHYS 261 Intensive Introductory Physics Charles Baltay Spring
PHYS 341/PHYS 523 Biological Physics Simon Mochrie Spring
PHYS 343 Gravity, Astrophysics & Cosmology Laura Newburgh Spring
PHYS 356 Astrostatistics & Data Mining Hector Arce Spring
PHYS 382L Advanced Physics Laboratory Reina Maruyama
Sidney Cahn
Steve Lamoreaux
Nir Navon
PHYS 402 Advanced Classical Physics Nikhil Padmanabhan Spring
PHYS 430 Electromagnetic Fields & Optics David DeMille Spring
PHYS 440 Quantum Mechanics & Natural Phenomena I Witold Skiba Spring
PHYS 449/PHYS 549 Solid-State Physics II Vidvuds Ozolins Spring
PHYS 472 Independent Projects in Physics John Harris Spring
PHYS 502 Electromagnetic Theory I A. Douglas Stone Spring
PHYS 504 Modern Physics Measurements Reina Maruyama
Sidney Cahn
Steve Lamoreaux
Nir Navon
PHYS 512 Statistical Physics Meng Cheng Spring
PHYS 517 Methods & Logic in Interdisciplinary Research Corey O’Hern
Julien Berro
Joerg Bewersdorf
Damon Clark
Erdem Karatekin
Megan King
Alex Kwan
Kathryn Miller-Jensen
Simon Mochrie
John Murray
Thomas Pollard
Lynne Regan
Alvaro Sanchez De Andres
Yongli Zhang
PHYS 528 Soft Condensed Matter Physics Eric Brown Spring
PHYS 538 Introduction to Relativisitic Astronomy & Relativity Vincent Moncrief Spring
PHYS 562 Dynamical Systems in Biology Damon Clark
Theirrry Emonet
PHYS 590 Responsible Research for the Physical Scientist Staff Spring
PHYS 608 Quantum Mechanics II Jack Harris Spring
PHYS 610 Quantum Many-Body Theory Yoram Alhassid Spring
PHYS 624 Group Theory Francesco Iachello Spring
PHYS 630 Relativisity Field Theory II Walter Goldberger Spring
PHYS 633 Introduction to Superconductivity Daniel Prober Spring
PHYS 762 Lab Instruction Design & Mechanical Arts Kurt Zilm
David Johnson

Committee List 2017-2018

DGS Sean Barrett

DUS Simon Mochrie
Associate Chair John Harris

Physics Club, Fall: Sarah Demers, R. Shankar
​Physics Club, Spring: Charles Baltay, Nir Navon

Committee on Climate & Diversity


Helen Caines (Chair in Fall)
Meng Cheng
Reina Maruyama (Chair in Spring)
David Poland


Rona Ramos
Lilian Vinston
Geriana van Atta

Graduate Students:

Charles Brown
Elena Gramellini
Emily Kuhn
Danielle Norcini

Undergraduate Students:

Julia Wei
Katherine Melbourne
Sophia Sanchez-Maes
Gabrielle Roberts

Ad Hoc Committee to Review the Graduate Program

Daisuke Nagai, Chair
Yoram Alhassid
Keith Baker
Sarah Demers
Walter Goldberger
Jack Harris
R. Shankar (Fall only)
Nicholas Read (Fall only)

Graduate Admissions

Steve Lamoreaux, Chair
Meng Cheng
Benjamin Machta
Nir Navon
Laura Newburgh
David Moore
Two members from Applied Physics 

Special Opportunities Committee

Jack Harris, Chair
Karsten Heeger
Simon Mochrie
Meg Urry


Simon Mochrie, Chair
Meg Urry
Paul Tipton
Claudia DeGrandi

JBPO Attendees

Paul Tipton
Leonid Glazman

Space Committee

Nikhil Padmanabhan, Chair
David DeMille
Bonnie Fleming
Leonid Glazman
Karsten Heeger

In addition there are four promotion committees active with one chair each and 12 additional members