Camille Avestruz (Graduate Student) has been awarded the 2013 D. Allan Bromley Graduate Fellowship in Physics

March 11, 2013

Camille Avestruz has been awarded the 2013 D. Allan Bromley Graduate Fellowship in Physics. Camille’s research is broadly focused on understanding how galaxies and clusters of galaxies form in the Universe.  Knowledge of how these so-called large-scale structures develop has the potential to enlighten us about the fundamental physics of the cosmos, including the nature of dark energy and dark matter.  This requires modeling all important astrophysical processes in simulations of the formation of large-scale structure – including the energy injected into galaxies by the growth of supermassive black holes at their centers. Under the supervision of Prof. Daisuke Nagai, Camille has made significant progress on this problem.In addition to her research, Ms. Avestruz is recognized for her advocacy of diversity in science, especially her exceptional outreach activities to mentor, teach, and inspire young female students and scientists and those from under-represented minorities, and, more generally, for her passion and commitment to teaching.

The D. Allan Bromley Fellowship Fund for Graduate Research in Physics was established in 2005 to honor Professor D. Allan Bromley, Sterling Professor of the Sciences at Yale University and former Presidential Science Advisor to President George H. W. Bush. The Fellowship was created by Prof. Bromley’s former students Joel Birnbaum (Yale Physics PhD ‘65), Joe Allen (Yale Physics PhD ‘65), and John Manoyan (Yale Physics PhD ‘87), because of their “deep affection and respect for” Prof. Bromley, in order to “memorialize his exceptional teaching and research career at Yale.”

The Fellowship is awarded annually to graduate students in Physics who have advanced to candidacy in the Ph.D. program, particularly those “who exhibit a broader interest than just physics, including, but not limited to, science and public policy, engineering, and applied science.” Candidates are nominated by the Physics faculty and selected by the D. Allan Bromley Professor of Physics (currently Rick Casten) and the Director of Graduate Studies (currently Paul Tipton). The indenture goes on to say, “In this way, the recipients will reflect and celebrate Dr. Bromley’s distinguished and honorable persona in the exceptional scope, standing, talent, and character of his distinguished personal, public, and academic life.”