Josiah Willard Gibbs stamp released on May 4, 2005

May 5, 2005

A First Day of Issue ceremony for a series of stamps honoring four American Scientists will be hosted by the U.S. Postal Service at Yale University’s Henry R. Luce Hall, 34 Hillhouse Ave. on May 4, 2005.

The scientists commemorated are thermodynamicist Josiah Willard Gibbs, geneticist Barbara McClintock, mathematician John von Neumann, and physicist Richard Feynman. Stamps will be available for purchase on site and at New Haven Post Offices Thursday, May 4, and nationwide at Post Offices and Philatelic Centers starting May 5.

External link: