Yale Center for Astronomy and Astrophysics (YCAA) Prize Fellowship

The Yale Center for Astronomy and Astrophysics invites applications for the YCAA Prize Fellowship. The YCAA is part of a vibrant research community in the Astronomy and Physics departments at Yale. The Fellowship is for three years (renewed annually subject to performance) and offers salary, benefits and research funds comparable to the Hubble and other similar prize fellowships.

Yale offers a lively academic community and access to world-class astronomical facilities, including the Keck and Palomar telescopes. Because Yale is an institutional member of the SDSS-IV and SDSS-V collaborations, YCAA Fellows can automatically join both. YCAA Fellows also have access to High-Performance Computing facilities at Yale.

Fellows are expected to carry out their own research program, although research interests that intersect with those of Yale astrophysics faculty are preferred. Active research at Yale spans most areas in astrophysics and includes theoretical, observational, and instrumentation efforts.

Applicants must have received their Ph.D. in astronomy or astrophysics/cosmology by June 2024.

Applicants should apply online and must submit their curriculum vitae, bibliography, and a brief (max 3 pages) description of their anticipated research program by November 1, 2024. Candidates should also arrange for 3 letters of recommendation to be submitted to the above URL by November 1. YCAA Fellowship candidates will also be considered for any other open postdoctoral positions in astrophysics at Yale in their fields of interest, unless they ask to be considered only for the YCAA Fellowship.

Applications that are complete by November 1, 2024 will be assured of full consideration.

List of YCAA Fellows

2023 - Farnik Nikakhtar
2022 - Erin Kado-Fong
2021 - Priyanka Singh
2020 - Mislav  Balokovic
2019 - Victor Robles
2018 - Rachael Roettenbacher
2017 - Michael Tremmel
2016 - Allison Kirkpatrick
2015 - Nico Cappelluti
2014 - Andrew Hearin
2013 - Pascal Oesch
2012 - Jonathan Foster
2011 - Nikku Madhusudhan
2010 - Nitya Kallivayalil
2009 - Zheng Zheng
2007 - Kyoungsoo (Soo) Lee
2005 - Jason Tumlinson
2004 - Ken Rines
2003 - Nick Morgan