Committee on the Undergraduate Program (COUP)

In the spring of 2002, the Department of Physics began a review of its entire undergraduate program. A faculty Committee On the Undergraduate Program (COUP) was established by the then Physics Department Chair, Professor R. Shankar. 

COUP was asked to focus initially on the physics major, reviewing the current curriculum and the various degree programs including joint programs with other departments. The committee has begun its work, consulting with current physics majors at Yale, with recent graduates, and with faculty members at Yale and other universities. COUP continues to meet and consult, reporting periodically to the Physics Department faculty and keeping the broader community abreast of its progress through the departmental web site.

Anyone interested in undergraduate education in physics is encouraged to contact COUP through the DUS Nikhil Padmanan (