Welcome First Year Students 2021-22


Braedyn Au
braedyn.au@yale.edu
University of Calgary
Research Interests: I am interested in non-equilibrium statistical mechanics, biophysics, complex systems.

About me: My hero growing up was Batman.


Maria Eduarda Belota Moreno
maria.belotamoreno@yale.edu
Amherst College
Research Interests: I'm interested in quantum gases and quantum information.

About me: I enjoy dancing, reading, and spending time with my two cats. I also love learning new languages and have been studying Japanese for the past 4 years!

Naomi Brandt
naomi.brandt@yale.edu
Mount Holyoke College
Sara Butler
sara.butler@yale.edu
Bucknell University

Kangle Cai
kangle.cai@yale.edu
Nanjing University
Research Interests: I am interested in Condensed Matter Theory.

About me: I have wide interests, say Music, PC DIY, and space exploration.


David Carcamo
david.carcamo@yale.edu
Johns Hopkins University
Research Interests: I am currently interested in understanding gauge equivariance in the context of Lattice QCD calculations.

About me: I enjoy playing my cello and guitar in my spare time.


Katie Chang
katie.chang@yale.edu
University Of Virginia Undergraduate Studies
Research Interests: I'm interested in computational and theoretical biophysics, machine learning, and large-scale simulations.

About me: I love learning all sorts of new instruments like guitar and ukulele, playing with my cat, and painting!

Hyo Lim (Harper) Cho
harper.cho@yale.edu
NYU-Abu Dhabi

Evan Craft
evan.craft@yale.edu
Dartmouth College
Research Interests: I am interested in particle physics.

About me: I enjoy taking long walks and getting lost in nature.


Allison Culbert
allison.culbert@yale.edu
Tufts University
Research Interests: I am interested in soft matter and quantum information.

About me: I'm a freelance photographer! In my free time I try to read, swim laps, walk somewhere, sit on the beach, or sail with my dad.


Isaque Dutra
isaque.dutra@yale.edu
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
Research Interests: I am interested in Astrophysics and Cosmology.

About me: In my spare time I enjoy amateur astronomy, especially star hopping.


Naomi Gluck
naomi.gluck@yale.edu
Stony Brook University - SUNY
Research Interests: I am interested in computational stellar astrophysics, cosmology, large scale simulations

About me: I enjoy learning new languages (currently Russian), playing piano and oboe, drawing portraits, and playing chess!

Eleanor Graham
eleanor.graham@yale.edu
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Songtao Huang
songtao.huang@yale.edu
Nanjing University
Research Interests: I am interested in researching to cold atom.

About me: I am interested in badminton :)


Rohin McIntosh
rohin.mcintosh@yale.edu
Princeton University
Research Interests: I am currently interested in optical physics and photonics, quantum metrology, physics-informed machine learning, and biophysics. I am excited to explore new fields as well!

About me: I am a classical pianist and singer and enjoy both performing and composing.


Toni Montalvo
toni.montalvo@yale.edu
University of California, Riverside
Research Interests: I am currently interested in optical physics, precision measurements, and nuclear physics.

About me: I enjoy watching art restorations, baking pastries from the Great British Bake Off, painting with acrylics, making jewelry, and I am also an avid moviegoer.


David Nguyen
david.nguyen@yale.edu
University of Southern California
Research Interests: I am interested in cosmology, especially the CMB, dark matter, and the 21-cm signal.

About me: I enjoy astrophotography/landscape photography, hiking, video games, and playing guitar.


Xiaowei Ou
xiaowei.ou@yale.edu
University of Science and Technology of China
Research Interests: I am interested in particle physics.

About me: I am interested in literature and I enjoy watching a variety of shows in my spare time.


Xiaoyi Ouyang
xiaoyi.ouyang@yale.edu
Peking University
Research Interests: I am interested in biological physics and non-equilibrium statistics

About me: I broadly like all animals, recently I plan to care for moon jellies.


Harshita (Joy) Pajarla
joy.pajarla@yale.edu
Lewis And Clark College
Research Interests: I am interested in biophysics, thermodynamics, cell signaling mechanisms, cellular self-organization and efficiency, emergent complexity, mathematical modeling

About me: When I am not doing physics, I enjoy reading ancient western and existentialist philosophy, running, playing board games, oil painting, and hiking with my dog.


Gregory Penn
gregory.penn@yale.edu
Temple University
Research Interests: I am interested in nuclear and particle theory.

About me: In my free time I drum, listen to music, and make ice cream!


Mengwen Shi
mengwen.shi@yale.edu
University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: I am interested in biophysics.

About me: I am a foodie and love video games.


Cassady Smith
cassady.smith@yale.edu
Whittier College
Research Interests: I am interested in quantum computing and quantum information.

About me: I took a year before graduate school to gain experience in industry, where I worked in the Atomic Clocks Technologies group at The Aerospace Corporation. I named an ensemble of rubidium atomic frequency standards after characters from The Office. As it turns out, Kevin's not so stable.


Sylvi Stoller
sylvi.stoller@yale.edu
Stony Brook University - SUNY
Research Interests: I am interested in biophysics, specifically imaging and physics applied to medicine.

About me: I'm a bhangra dancer! I also love cats, enjoy drawing, doing anything outdoorsy, and reading about sociology.


Qile (David) Su
q.su@yale.edu
University of California: Los Angeles (UCLA)
Research Interests: I am interested in quantum computing, theory and experiments

About me: My favorite childhood movie is The Day After Tomorrow. Some games I have enjoyed playing: Return of the Obra Dinn; Don't Starve Together; Overcooked 2.


Andrew Tamis
andrew.tamis@yale.edu
Pennsylvania State University
Research Interests: I am interested in nuclear and particle physics as well as the Quark Gluon Plasma

About me: I'm an advanced certified Scuba diver!


Yarone Tokayer
yarone.tokayer@yale.edu
Columbia University
Research Interests: I am interested in High Energy Astrophysics, Particle Astrophysics, Cosmology, Exoplanets and Astrobiology, Machine Learning, Quantum Foundations, and most other physicsy things

About me: I'm a high school teacher. I love nature, philosophy of science, and Jewish liturgical music.

Matthew Toledo Rozycki
matthew.toledorozycki@yale.edu
Stony Brook University - SUNY

Yu-Han Tseng
yuhan.tseng@yale.edu
National Taiwan University
Research Interests: I am interested in experimental cosmology and astrophysics

About me: I enjoy films, literature, cooking, and running!


Mira Varma
mira.varma@yale.edu
University of Connecticut
Research Interests: I’m planning on specializing in particle theory but interested in learning about all areas of physics!

About me: I enjoy reading, baking, hiking and spending time with my dog.


Molly Watts
molly.watts@yale.edu
Columbia University
Research Interests: I am interested in experimental particle physics. Mostly fundamental symmetry and neutrino physics, as well as dark matter.

About me: I have a history in art and philosophy degree and used to work in the arts.


Sierra Weyhmiller
sierra.weyhmiller@yale.edu
University Of Notre Dame
Research Interests: I am interested in experimental nuclear physics, experimental particle physics, machine learning, and the quark-gluon plasma.

About me: I can play the tuba!


Angela White
angela.white@yale.edu
Brown University
Research Interests: I'm interested in particle astrophysics research, whether it be neutrino oscillation measurements or dark matter searches.

About me: I love exploring used book stores and the more absurd parts of US states.


Sven Witthaus
sven.witthaus@yale.edu
University of California: Santa Barbara
Research Interests: I am interested in Soft Matter/Biophysics

About me: I do physics at Yale


Lihao Yan
lihao.yan@yale.edu
University Of Notre Dame
Research Interests: I am interested in quantum Many-Body Systems and Superconductivity

About me: Philosophy, Ski, Poker