Commitees and Officers

Karsten Heeger

Rona Ramos
Andrew Szymkowiak

Charles Baltay
Vincent Moncrief (Spring 2020 only)
R. Shankar

The Graduate Student Advisory Committee serves as a point of communication between the graduate students and the administration of the department. The committee advises the Chair, the DGS, and other faculty on matters related to graduate students and the graduate program, including (but not limited to) helping plan and organize annually scheduled departmental events.The committee members also advocate on behalf of graduate students with the Chair and DGS. Committee members are appointed for one calendar year. The composition of the committee includes at least one representative from each cohort, with a primary goal of representing inclusive and diverse sets of interests. Committee members meet with the Chair and DGS once a month. The committee also meets internally once a month while regularly soliciting feedback from other students in their cohorts.

Joseph Shomar (Year 2)
Samantha Pagan (Year 2)
Sanah Bhimani (Year 2)
Hannah Bossi (Year 3)
Ako Jamil (Year 4)
Lauren Saunders (Year 4)
Sheridan Green (Year 4)
Emily Kuhn (Year 5)
Kelly Backes (Year 5)
Sohan Vartak (Year 5)
Sumita Ghosh (Year 5)
Ryan Petersburg (Year 6)
Aniket Maiti (Year 3)

Helen Caines (chair)
Meg Urry
Shelly Lesher
Rona Ramos

Facilities and space of the Physics Department are critical to its mission in research, teaching, and outreach. They also play a crucial role in building community and fostering interactions within the department and beyond.  This committee will advise the department and its chair on the coordination and planning of space and issues related to the facilities of the department. The committee and its members may also be asked to assist as department liaisons to university planning efforts.  

Nikhil Padmanabhan (chair)
Andrew Szymkowiak
David DeMille
Sidney Cahn
James Nikkel
Bonnie Fleming
Simon Mochrie
Stephen Irons

The Mossman Fellowship is a prize postdoctoral fellowship in the Physics Department. The committee will coordinate the annual competition for the Mossman fellowship, identify suitable candidates, and make a recommendation to the Chair and the department.  

Walter Goldeberger (chair)
David Poland 
Meng Cheng
Sarah Demers

Steve Lamoreaux (chair)
Steve Lamoreaux (chair)

Nicholas Read (co-chair)
Jonathn Howard (co-chair)

This task force will develop and articulate a strategic vision for biological physics in the Physics Department taking into account the landscape for biological physics and emerging initiatives (such as Qbio) on campus.

Simon Mochrie (chair)
Alison Sweeney
Ben Machta

This task force will develop and articulate a strategic vision for the role of the Physics Department in data science taking into account the landscape and initiative for data science on campus. 

Daisuke Nagai (chair)
Helen Caines
David Moore
Ben Machta
Sarah Demers

Jack Harris (chair)
Bonnie Fleming
Larry Gladney
Reina Maruyama
Nir Navon
Meg Urry

The prize, fellowship, and nominations committee (PFNC) will regularly review the accomplishments of the Physics faculty and will work with the Chair to nominate candidates for fellowships, prizes, promotions, and other professional recognition. The committee will also identify outstanding alumni who qualify for university prizes and alumni awards including the Wilbur Cross Medal.

John Harris (chair)
Steve Girvin
Larry Gladney
Tom Applequist
Meg Urry (on leave in Spring 2020)

QuARK (Queer Affiliated fRiends of physiKs)  - Jack Harris
Yale Physics Department Happy Hour - Nicholas Read
Yale Society of Physics Students - Reina Maruyama
Yale Women in Physics + - Simon Mochrie
Yale Women in Physics: Undergraduate - Sarah Demers

Teaching assignments for the Physics Department are done by the Chair in consultation with the DUS and DGS.

Karsten Heeger (Chair, Physics Department)
Simon Mochrie (DUS) 
Bonnie Fleming (DGS)